Give it up for……..


a non profit, progressive  political action committee dedicated to the defense of America that was able to put enough pressure on a US Army General and known Islamophobe, one LtGen William Boykin to not appear at a West Point Prayer Breakfast.  Boykin is famous for such utterances as

I want to come skidding in there on all fours. I want to be slipping and sliding and I want to hit the gates of heaven with a bang. And when I stand up and I stand before Christ, I want there to be blood on my knees and my elbows. I want to be covered with mud. And I want to be standing there with a ragged breast plate of righteousness. And a spear in my hand. And I want to say, “Look at me, Jesus. I’ve been in the battle. I’ve been fighting for you.” Ladies and gentlemen, put your armor on and get into battle.

What are you prepared to give up for America? Are you willing to pay the ultimate price?..there is no greater threat to America than Islam….

and other wild rants which you can read about here. VoteVets however got Boykin to withdraw from speaking at the breakfast  saying,

‘..the calls from veterans, activists, and civil rights leaders around the country made this decision possible. I’m glad that the cadets will not be forced to hear the words of an anti-Muslim general whose rhetoric does not align with the values of our military and also endangers our troops in combat.’  

What’s frightening, unfortunately is that Boykin was invited to speak at West Point by people who know his views and may even subscribe to them. One can only conclude there are plenty of others like him, equally divisive and inflammatory in the US military who may very well be responsible for the behavior of US military personnel in faraway Muslim countries  like Iraq and Afghanistan.  We have an idea of how some in the military have behaved abroad, publicly desecrating enemy dead and murdering women and children and then covering up the crime.  Are we to conclude that the right to speech we hold dear is responsible for this type of criminal behavior, especially when it’s spoken from so high up the chain of command? That’s for others to decide; for now, Boykin won’t appear at the breakfast.  You can be sure, however there are other venues lined up for him at which to speak.

One Response to Give it up for……..

  1. Pingback: Delta Force Hero Can’t Speak at West Point Because of his Christian Beliefs | Congressman Tom Tancredo

Leave a Reply

